Top-class sport and academic studies

The legacy in terms of sport will focus on the objective of further improving the conditions for combining top-class sport and academic studies in Switzerland.

Swiss University Sports, together with Swiss Olympic, is making great efforts to ensure that young people in Switzerland do not have to choose between top-class sport and studying but can combine both. Those who manage two careers at the same time acquire skills that are crucial for success in both, sport and professional life. "Today's stars, tomorrow's leaders" is the motto of Swiss University Sports. Initiatives focus on increasing the flexibility of study programmes, optimise advice or raise awareness of the concept of "dual careers" among professional associations.

 

Presentation on the topic of «Dual careers»

During the Winter Universiade 2021, the FISU World Conference with renowned speakers from Switzerland and all over the world should have taken place. Due to the cancellation of the event, the conference was not held in Lucerne as planned, but as a webinar. Prof. Dr. Paul Wyllemann presented on the topic of "Dual careers". Dr Wylleman is a professor at Vrije Universiteit Brussel, where he teaches sport psychology and is Head of the university’s Elite Sport and Study department. Dr Wylleman also serves as the team psychologist for the Dutch Olympic team – most recently at the 2020 Summer Olympic Games in Tokyo.

When three former Winter Universiade participants meet for a chat, exciting stories and entertaining anecdotes come to light. When the trio is joined by two ice hockey players who successfully combine top-class sport and study, the talk is like a class reunion. Selina Gasparin, Nevin Galmarini, Sarah van Berkel-Meier, Leonardo Genoni and Timo Helbling talked about their experiences at the Winter Universiades and their balancing act between a top sports career and studies.

Spitzensport und Studium

Für das Vermächtnis im Bereich des Sports steht die Zielsetzung im Vordergrund, die Voraussetzungen für eine Vereinbarkeit von Spitzensport und Studium in der Schweiz weiter zu verbessern.

Swiss University Sports unternimmt gemeinsam mit Swiss Olympic starke Anstrengungen, damit sich junge Leute in der Schweiz nicht zwischen Spitzensport und Studium entscheiden müssen, sondern beides vereinbaren können. Wer zwei Karrieren gleichzeitig bewältigen kann, erwirbt sich Kompetenzen, die sowohl im Sport wie auch im Berufsleben entscheidend für den Erfolg sind. Today’s stars, tomorrow’s leaders heisst das Motto von Swiss University Sports. Im Fokus stehen Initiativen rund um die erhöhte Flexibilisierung der Studiengänge, der optimierten Beratung oder der Sensibilisierung der Fachverbände für das Thema «Duale Karriere». Detaillierte Informationen zum Thema Spitzensport und Studium finden Sie auf der Website von Swiss Olympic.


Präsentation zum Thema «Duale Karriere» 

Während der Winteruniversiade 2021 hätte die FISU Weltkonferenz mit namhaften Referentinnen und Referenten aus dem In- und Ausland stattfinden sollen. Aufgrund der Absage des Events wurde auch die Konferenz nicht wie geplant in Luzern durchgeführt, sondern als Webinar. Prof. Dr. Paul Wyllemann präsentierte zum Thema «Duale Karriere». Der Professor der Vrije Universität Brüssel lehrt Sportpsychologie und ist Leiter der Abteilung Spitzensport und Studium. Zudem betreut Prof. Dr. Paul Wylleman jeweils die niederländische Delegation an Olympischen Spielen als Psychologe – zuletzt diesen Sommer in Tokio. 

Wenn drei ehemalige Winteruniversiade-Teilnehmenden sich zu einem Gespräch treffen, kommen spannende Geschichten und unterhaltsame Anekdoten zum Vorschein. Wird das Trio von zwei Eishockeyspielern ergänzt, die Spitzensport und Studium erfolgreich kombinieren, gleicht der Talk einem Klassentreffen. Selina Gasparin, Nevin Galmarini, Sarah van Berkel-Meier, Leonardo Genoni und Timo Helbling haben im Online-Talk über ihre Erlebnisse an Winteruniversiaden und ihre Erfahrungen beim Spagat zwischen Spitzensport-Karriere und Studium gesprochen.